Mount Gambier Greyhound Racing Club

Tara Raceway, Lake Terrace East, Mount Gambier, SA

Major Sponsors

Carlin & Gazzard - MG logo

Trainers chasing further Iron Dog success

Thursday, August 30, 2018

Trainers Nicole Stanley, Aaron Blake and Jeff Guy will be hoping to pick up valuable points in Sunday’s first round of the Metal Worx Iron Dog (600 metres) as they strive for another win in the annual versatility series.

Hit The Runway looking to go one better in this year’s Iron Dog series.

Three heats will be run on Sunday with greyhounds awarded eight points down to two, according to order of finish. The second round – over 400 metres – will follow on Sunday week (September 9) with the heats reshuffled but the scoring system remaining the same.

The Iron Dog final, made up of the eight top point scorers, will then be decided on Sunday, September 16 over 512 metres at Tara Raceway.

Portland-based Stanley, who won the 2016 Iron Dog with Old Jock, looks well-placed again this year with Hit The Runway, runner-up in last year’s final and a two length second to Rockoon over 512 metres at Tara Raceway last Sunday.

White Hills trainer Blake, successful in the inaugural Iron Dog back in 2012 with Kiss Me Donkey, has a runner in each heat with Haddi Bale, Power Sensation and Zipping Floyd.

And Guy, of Horsham, is back again with last year’s winner Paraphernalia and fourth placegetter Frac Geek, along with Cookie Yap.

Cryer’s Plugger defeats Anniversary Cup winner Ben Nevis over 512 metres at Tara Raceway last Sunday.

Clashing with Paraphernalia in the second heat will be Aeroplane Mo, trained at Ballarat by Trent Blacker who will be looking for further feature success at Tara Raceway this year after the son of Collision and Ritza Night previously won the Koroit 600 and the Eric Lewis Memorial.

Adding even more interest to the second heat will be Peter Fulton’s Noosa Parade, a last start third over 595 metres at Sandown Park, and the Connie Miller trained Chilly Kiss, winner of The Tankman 600 at Mount Gambier Cup time and currently leading in the Greyhound of the Year.

Cryer’s Plugger, a finalist last year for Apsley trainer Tom Cryer, was an impressive 512 metre winner over recent Anniversary Cup winner Ben Nevis at Tara Raceway last Sunday and should pick up his fair share of opening round points when jumping from box two in the third heat.

Scroll to Top