Mount Gambier Greyhound Racing Club

Tara Raceway, Lake Terrace East, Mount Gambier, SA

Major Sponsors

Major Sponsor Commercial hotel

Fiorelli Rose clinches GOTY honours

Monday, January 1, 2018

A three length third placing behind Xtreme Carnage and Noosa Parade in Sunday’s New Years Free For All (512 metres) at Tara Raceway was sufficient for Fiorelli Rose to clinch outright honours in the 2017 Mount Gambier Greyhound of the Year.

Nicole Stanley with Fiorelli Rose, Mount Gambier’s 2017 Greyhound of the Year.

Coming into the final meeting of the season, Fiorelli Rose needed only a first-three finish to secure outright victory while an unplaced effort would have afforded Baz’s Moment the opportunity of dead-heating for the GOTY provided he could win the New Years Free For All (400 m) later in the day.

But, despite an outstanding year, Baz’s Moment failed to run a place behind Oh No Beta and for the second consecutive year greyhounds trained by Nicole Stanley of Portland have won the GOTY – Old Jock successful in 2016.

So, after a record number of TAB meetings – 75 to be precise – were run at Tara Raceway in 2017, and close to 500 greyhounds accumulated points along the way, it came down to Fiorelli Rose with nine wins, 11 seconds and nine thirds for a total of 67 points defeating the Tracie Price trained Baz’s Moment (10, 6, 10) by five points.

Debbie Scott and Kerry Hawker, together with Karen, Tracie and Ben Price after Swift Limes won the final race of the year at Tara Raceway.

A third placing at Sunday’s meeting by Scorpion behind Oh No Beta saw him finish the year in third spot on 58 points for Steve and Lee Bartholomew with the son of Superman and 2017 leading dam Which Class the most successful dog at the track during the year, from a number of wins point of view, when successful on 11 occasions.

Stanley started 2017 off with five winners, ended it with a double on Sunday and in between trained another 104 which was enough to give her the Leading Trainer title over Price who enjoyed another successful year with 94 winners including Return The Love, Same Scenario and Swift Limes who won the final three races of 2017.

Former leading trainer David Peckham finished in third spot while other trainers to enjoy good years at Tara Raceway included Brian Weis, Captain Abbott, Dean Fennell, Barry Shepheard, Tom Cryer, Richard Clayfield and Peter Franklin.

Scroll to Top