Mount Gambier Greyhound Racing Club

Tara Raceway, Lake Terrace East, Mount Gambier, SA

Major Sponsors

Major Sponsor Commercial hotel

4 wins at 3 tracks in 2 days

It was a productive couple of days last week for leading local trainer David Peckham after he posted wins at Mount Gambier, Angle Park and Murray Bridge.

At Tara Raceway on Thursday afternoon Out Of Gas, a son of successful producer Midnight News, ran a personal best time of 22.97 seconds when defeating kennelmate Aston Dijon by 3¾ lengths in the Gordon Refrigeration Stake (400 m).

Aston Bullet then opened his winning account at the local track when proving too strong for Bourne Rose and Bumrah in 23.41 seconds in the Swallow Drive Meats Stake (400 m).

Then, that night at Angle Park in a grade 6 stake over 530 metres, Midnight Blast led all the way for a 30.55 seconds win. Earlier in the night, Midnight Bandit had run fourth in the Leigh Rogers Feature (530 m).

The “Midnight” littermates are by Collision out of Midnight Starlet, a winner of $54,000 and also a daughter of Midnight News.

And at Murray Bridge the following day, Aston Marlon turned in a strong effort to run down Victa Mikey in a grade 5 series heat over 455 metres.

Kerry Hawker with White Cadillac and Cap Abbott with all the way winner Cadillac Miss.

Meanwhile, Cap Abbott and Kerry Hawker of the Edenhope-based Cadillac Kennels enjoyed another good day at Tara Raceway on Thursday when Gold Rocks and Cadillac Miss were successful.

Gold Rocks brought up her fourth win in the space of a couple of months when showing good mid-race dash and then holding out odds-on favourite Cash Storm in the Exchange Printers Stake (400 m) to win in a time of 23.45 seconds.

Cadillac Miss, by My Redeemer out of Wentworth Park winner Ariya, led all the way in the Bartholomew Pick 6 Stake (512 m) to defeat kennelmate White Cadillac by 3½ lengths in 30.52 seconds.

The double continued the pair’s good run this year and took their tally of winners at the track to 59 – 11 of those coming from Another Pick, the current Mount Gambier Greyhound of the Year leader.

Scroll to Top